NaBloPoMo

Honest

Today’s prompt: If you could be completely honest with no regrets, what would you say and to whom?

Honesty.

Why is it easier to be honest hiding behind a screen than in person? Because the reaction isn’t always what we expect. But there’s no good in that. I can hide behind my screen and write who I’d be honest with and what I’d say, but that isn’t fair to whomever I’d write to and it isn’t fair to me.

I do write honestly, for myself. Letters mostly. Usually with a specific person in mind. Usually without the intention of sending them. I tell people how I feel, what I think they did wrong, all the things I couldn’t think to say or wouldn’t have said in the moment come out. And that honesty is great because it gets things off my mind, but it isn’t really fair.

For that, I’m sorry. I’m sorry that you won’t get to read those letters anytime soon. But I’m not really that sorry, though, because sometimes it’s most challenging to be honest with yourself. That’s what those letters give me.

NaBloPoMo November 2016

Wanna leave a reply? Do it! Now!

