My London Adventure · Writing 101

Out & About, In & Around London

I know my blogging this week leaves a lot to be desired, but I’m planning on catching up this weekend. So there’s that. Anyway. Day 13’s assignment was to create a story through a series of vignettes. First of all, I didn’t really know what that word means. But I learned and had a really difficult time forming a story around that. Then it hit me that I never shared my London photos with the blog world, and also, that’s a series all on it’s own. So here we go with this.

Dover Castle
DSCN0225
Canterbury Cathedral
The Globe Theatre
Les Miserables at the Queen’s Theatre
Sensing Spaces at the Royal Academy of Arts
Greenwich
Hogwarts
Whitby Abbey
Whitby
Loch Ness
Glencoe
Ambleside
DSCN0896
La Boheme at Royal Albert Hall
Wicked at the Apollo Victoria Theatre
St. James’s Park

Dover Castle: It was cold and misty. But we got to learn about the history there and specifically about World War II and D-Day.

Canterbury Cathedral: It’s really fancy and we got to sit through an evensong service there.

The Globe Theatre: We got to tour The Globe, which is where Shakespeare performed, so that was pretty cool, but we also got to watch a show in the brand new indoor theater they just built.

Les Miserables: This show is a musical in the most basic sense of the world. There was literally no speaking, only singing. That was a shock. But once we got past that, it was okay. Definitely not my favorite of the musicals we went to see.

Sensing Spaces: Basically the coolest art exhibit ever. Artists featured were given rooms and basically told they could do what they wanted in them. The exhibit featured was made of plastic and really long straws and all the visitors were invited to contribute, so that was pretty cool.

Greenwich: It’s a really historical city outside London. We went to different museums and things, but we also got to stand on the Prime Meridian. And it was a nice day, so we got to take pictures outside the museum about time zones.

Hogwarts: When we visited the Universal Studios Harry Potter Experience, the last room we went through was the model Hogwarts that filmmakers used to film the wide angle shots of the castle. I was in my glory all day. In fact, I scared my mom when I wanted her to call me so I could share my stories with her.

Whiby & Whitby Abbey: This was the first stop (I think) on our coach tour/ spring break. It was right on the water (both a river, pictured, and the ocean) and it was a great time to be there. The weather even sort of cooperated.

Loch Ness: Scotland was also a stop on the tour and we took a short break from being on the bus to take some photos with the lake and its monster.

Glencoe: One of the last stops on the tour, and also in the middle of nowhere. We spend the day hiking in the mountains and getting soaked in the mist, and I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

Ambleside: One of the other last stops on our tour and the only night most of us had ever spent in a hostel. The wifi was terrible, so we did some roommate bonding instead.

La Boheme: One of the saddest shows a person could ever see, but also it was in Italian. That was cool, even from the nosebleed seats we were in. And we all decided to get dressed up to go to the opera and as cold as it was, it was totally worth it for the beautiful pictures we took.

Wicked: One of the best musicals ever. I was really lucky because I ended up going to see it twice, and just like with everything else, the second time brought new and different light to the show and that was really cool. It was the last show we went as a group to see and a handful of the girls got dressed up again.

St. James’s Park: On one of the last days we were in London, Lisa, Clarissa and I got dressed up because it was a beautiful day and we had new clothes we wanted to try out and did a photo shoot. We took turns taking pictures of each other in front of Buckingham Palace and Big Ben and also in the park with the trees and the flowers. The experience was unforgettable.

My study abroad experience was easily the highlight of my undergraduate career.

London was an experience and I can’t wait to go back.

To create this story, I went through all the hundreds and hundreds of pictures I took and found basically all the selfies I could find and though they would make for a great series of stories. Or at least a great sum of the memories I got while I was there.

I hope you enjoyed it and if you’d like to see more of this type of storytelling from me, let me know! Thanks.

One thought on “Out & About, In & Around London

Wanna leave a reply? Do it! Now!

