Writing 101

An Update Over Coffee

If we were having coffee this morning, I’d tell you about school. Classes are going well. I’m a little overwhelmed with three PR classes taught by one teacher, but that’s okay. I’m making it work. I’d tell you about how miserable my leadership class is. My group is…interesting, to say the least, but that’s okay. I’m making it work. You’d be proud.

If we were having coffee this morning, I’d tell you I graduate in May and that I wish you could be here to watch me walk. Sometimes it’s like a looming dark hole, but sometimes it’s a bright shining door. I’m really excited. College was good for me and I’ve grown, but I’m ready for the next adventure.

If we were having coffee this morning, I’d tell you about my big plans, where I wanna travel. I’d tell you the stories from travelling in London and Italy, and I’d tell you that I wish you’d been there.

If we were having coffee this morning, when I’d finished my rambling stories, I’d thank you for everything you’ve done for our family. I’d thank you for the legacy you left for us before you got sick.

And you’d tell me how proud you are of all of us.

Today’s assignment was to present an “update” over coffee. I started writing and then I realized who I was writing to. My mom’s dad was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s about seven or eight years ago. The last family trip we took was to Paris in the summer of 2008. I have a lot of good memories with him from long before that, playing in his garden at the home he and my grandma shared in New York until he was moved to a nursing home a few years ago. It’s been increasingly difficult for all of us to go visit him because it’s so sad to see such a strong man become a shell of himself. Some of the most recent memories I have of him are sitting at breakfast making him coffee. Once he had me put something like 11 sugar packets in his cup. That was before I started college and before I started drinking coffee. I treasure the memories I have of him and I know he’d be proud of me and wherever he is mentally, I pray he’s happy.

4 thoughts on “An Update Over Coffee

  1. I loved the way you write. I had lost my Grandma just before college. We were close. So, I did miss her and still do. Sometimes, when I write in my diary, I don’t even realize I am writing to her. May God bless your Grandfather. And that’s a lovely picture you shared! Stay blessed!

Wanna leave a reply? Do it! Now!

