Writing 101

Procrastination: Part of the Process

Today’s assignment was to find inspiration in social media. We were given some options, or told to pick our own. Since I already did a post about grammar, I opted to use one of the provided options.

tweet for WP

I’m one of those terrible people who has to have some form of pressure to make me actually do things, be it a group who’s counting on me or deadline or a grown person breathing down my neck. And I’m working on it. Well, I’m trying. For me, it’s just really hard to decide to do something far in advance when I know I could be doing something more fun. Like, Netflix or essay that’s due at the end of the semester? Netflix is going to win every time (up to like three days before the due date. And even then, it’s still a toss up).

Procrastination is one of my greatest weaknesses, up there with stubbornness and lack of patience. But it is something that I have accepted that I will struggle with for the rest of my life because I’ve tried the planning weeks in advance thing and it never really worked, especially for my papers.

I always write better when I don’t have as much time to mull it over and change things. When I edit my essays for class, I’ll change the sentence 12 times, only to actually put it back the way it was the first time.

And then I discovered that’s when I do my best work. When I don’t have time to make it super perfect and spend days wondering if it’s good enough.

Now, don’t get me wrong. Making things look polished and neat, like essays is always a good thing. And you should never turn something in with stupid typos, like missing words and stuff like that. I always proofread (not always well, because I’m in my head and sometimes my brain forgets that not everyone knows which word is supposed to go wherever to make that a complete sentence) my work. But if I don’t have time to think about which of the other 12 ways I should write something, I usually find the best, most concise way to say what I mean. Then, while I may have spent that last 24 hours before my paper was due writing it, I spend less time than if I had started months ago, because I would have been staring at blank page for ages before actually putting anything on it.

I think that everyone has their own process to creativity, and procrastination is definitely part of mine.

4 thoughts on “Procrastination: Part of the Process

  1. ” always write better when I don’t have as much time to mull it over and change things. When I edit my essays for class, I’ll change the sentence 12 times, only to actually put it back the way it was the first time.”

    I completely relate and understand. I feel ‘deferment of judgement’ is indispensable for the creative process.

    Polishing is good but mostly with stuffs you mention–typos, decoration, punctuation and images.

    Have a great weekend,

    Anand 🙂

Wanna leave a reply? Do it! Now!

