Writing 101

Maps

Today’s assignment was to find inspiration in one photo. Of the four options we were presented, the one that appealed most to me is the map.

One day, I want to travel. I want to discover the world. And the best way to do that is to use a map.

I’m big on using Google Maps to get around here. But when I’ve traveled internationally, that wasn’t really an option because wifi isn’t available everywhere and international phone plans are crazy expensive. And I was pleasently surprised to discover that I am actually much better than I thought with directions.

When we visited Italy, I led my aunt and my sister back to a little shoe shop the day after we stumbled upon it when we were lost. When I studied in London, once I got the lay of the land, I didn’t even need a map to know where I was going some places. But I made an effort to carry one, just in case I got lost. Granted, the times I was actually lost, I didn’t actually have my map, but that’s besides the point.

I think that paper maps are on their way out, because technology is slowly taking over the whole world, but I think there’s a sense of romance that comes with paper, the same way books are different from ebooks.

4 thoughts on “Maps

  1. I have never used maps. I am not good with them. That said,

    I like the way you connect them with your journey and google maps are need of the day I suppose. I hope you get to see all places.

    Best wishes,
    Anand 🙂

Wanna leave a reply? Do it! Now!

