My London Adventure

The London Eye

Today we visited the London Eye (which for everyone who doesn’t know, is essentially a closed Ferris wheel). It’s 135 m high.

It was a beautiful day. It wasn’t super windy. Or cold.

And I have to tell you, it was quite an experience.

Being up that high, it’s interesting. I didn’t think I’d like it. I’m not big on heights. I don’t do roller-coasters. I’ve never been on a Ferris wheel at a fair. I don’t like airplanes. I don’t like climbing to the tops of buildings. I know how nice the view is. I know how nice the pictures come out. But I can’t enjoy it if I feel like I’m going to puke. I had to think very hard about whether or not I actually wanted to go up there. I thought of all the people at how who would kill me if I missed this opportunity, so I took a risk and did it.

And, surprisingly, it was very different than what I expected.

First, we were in a pod thing with solid glass windows. We didn’t have to stay sitting. We could walk around. And you almost didn’t feel like you were moving. Except when we stopped, which was strange (I mean, not that strange if you wanna analyze all the physics and whatnot behind it, but, no one really wants to do that).

When we were up there, all I could think was, Wow, everything seems so close up here, followed by, I actually know these places!

DSCN0616
That’s me. And there’s Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament behind me. Even with the glare from the sun, it was a beautiful view!
DSCN0603
That’s how high up we were. Those are the people waiting their turn or milling about in Jubilee Gardens or just wandering around.
DSCN0594
That is St. Paul’s Cathedral. It’s just so cool to me that I can pick out places like that. And I’ve been there. (For the record, according to Lisa, it’s a terribly long walk from here to St. Paul’s.)
On a mostly unrelated note, we watched Mary Poppins a few days ago, and I picked out St. Paul’s Cathedral in one of the scenes. Talk about a proud moment.
DSCN0590
Seriously. Look how beautiful the sky is.
DSCN0618
I thought this was a cool shot because you can see the reflection on the glass and the buildings on the other side of the Thames. That was my attempt to be artsy. Probably won’t happen again soon, but we’ll see.

Going on the eye was such an experience. And I think we’re going to try to go back at night. I’ll keep you posted!

Wanna leave a reply? Do it! Now!

