Daily Prompt

Characters: Katniss

Today’s Daily Prompt is to write about a conversation you would have with your favorite character.

Disclaimer: I am forreal about to nerd it up. I’m about to talk about The Hunger Games. I do not care about the nerdiness about to follow. Just thought you oughta know. Also, Roseanna suggested I do Disney, so I will probably do a follow up blog, because all of the Disney princesses are wonderful. And also, it just occurred to me that I’m neglecting Harry Potter, so there will be a follow up for that too, probably. (I just gave myself a looooooooooooooong to do list. Ouch.)

Other Disclaimer: There may be spoilers for the books and first movie. You have been warned.

Let me summarize this story, for all of those poor souls who have not had the opportunity to read The Hunger Games (and I highly recommend them): It’s a post-apocalyptic land in North America. The Capitol, who ended the war and whatnot, started the Hunger Games. Every year one boy and one girl between ages 12 and 18 are selected to participate. The Hunger Games is a competition and there is only one victor; he or she is given a place among the rich and high class (this represents the generosity of the Capital; it also keeps citizens in check with fear and all that). There are 12 districts; the outer districts are poorer, with 12 being the poorest. The competitors from these districts almost never win.

The protagonist, Katniss is from District 12. She and her sister attend the Reaping and her younger sister is picked. So Katniss volunteers in her place. And that’s how that starts.

I realize that this is a young adult novel, and fiction, but since I read the book (and I read it long before it was “cool”), she always impressed me. She is 16 and knows that there are things that are more important than herself.

If I talked with her (the prompt said heart-to-heart), I would thank her for being such a strong woman. A lot of female characters (not all of them, but a lot) are portrayed as weak. And I know that’s a stereotype. But it’s refreshing to see a character who is so independent and strong. And that’s what I would thank her for.

Throughout the series, she becomes the face of a rebellion. She becomes a symbol for freedom for all people. And, in literature, women are rarely a symbol for something as positive as that. Just think about it. In Greek mythology, Pandora is blamed for all the plagues and sufferings of the human race. In Christianity, most people believe Eve is the reason for the expulsion from the garden. (There are a lot of good women in all these stories, don’t get me wrong; but we don’t hear about them nearly as frequently.)

In addition, Katniss does something almost unheard of: she doesn’t swear. Not once. That is impressive. In today’s society, it’s almost expected that if something is going wrong, we’re going to hear something. Young kids, like, 10 year-olds, swear all the time, because they hear their parents do it. That’s a little disturbing, when you think about it. These kids have no idea how to express themselves without using vulgar language.

I think Katniss gives these kids a good role model for all kids, but especially girls. If I had t

he opportunity to talk to her that’s what I would talk about. And also, I would get her to teach me to shoot an arrow, because I think that is a super cool thing to know how to do (probably only because I’ve read these books).

18 DAYS UNTIL CATCHING FIRE RELEASES, IN CASE ANYONE WAS WONDERING.

One thought on “Characters: Katniss

Wanna leave a reply? Do it! Now!

