REMEMBER THE TIME BLOG HOP

Petrified

This week’s challenge is to write about a time you were scared. But not Halloween.

I’ve always been scared of ridiculous things. Let’s be real. It always scared me to bring home bad grades to my parents (maybe because I never had much practice), or tell them I broke something. And movies used to scare me. I don’t especially like heights and I avoid roller-coasters. But let’s be real here. Those are awful stories. So, this week, I’m going to talk about my roommate, Roseanna, and how we scare each other on a regular basis.

Now, we have been friends since last year when we met and we hit it off. Like, peo

ple thought I lived with her last year because all the time we spent together was all over Facebook (I think I spent more time with her than with my boyfriend at the time). Anyway, we were bumming this year because we thought we weren’t going to live together, but, God works wonders and here we are, living together and loving it.

Anyway. We eternally scare each other because we are half deaf. I’ll walk in and scare her. Or she’ll walk in and scare me. Or we’ll be closer than we thought and we bump into each other. Or we try to be helpful and drop things and make a scary loud noise. Or, sometimes, one of us will be jammin’ and not hear the other one coming. Once, I didn’t close the door all the way and that scared her because she worried she’d find someone else in our apartment. Needless to say, we’re both kind of a mess.

And, I am by nature, somewhat jumpy. My little sister will consistently hide behind the couch and scare me and even when I know she’s there, I scream.

And, Roseanna swears her ankles pop, so at home she can never sneak up on anyone.

One night, a few weeks ago, I was getting ready for bed: taking out my contacts, brushing my teeth, all that jazz. And I heard her coming. And all of a sudden the foot steps stopped, so I figured she was in her room. And guess whose head comes around the corner? Roseanna. And what do I do? A very pitiful excuse for a scream. And then I laughed. Because that’s what I do when I’m nervous.

And I looked for Roseanna and guess who was no longer on her feet? Roseanna. She

was laughing so hard at me, she fell on the floor.

Apparently, I do a very convincing deer-in-the-headlights (it’s similar to the look she gets when I’m helping her study nutrition and can’t pronounce half the words or she tells me things that are not on her flashcards). And it’s very fun to look at. And now I am petrified when I hear her coming…

We are trying a thing where we announce ourselves, but more often than not, we f

orget, or we can’t hear. Suggestions are welcome…

 

Wanna leave a reply? Do it! Now!

