Daily Prompt

Unplugged

Today’s Daily Prompt is about unplugging and taking a break from technology.

Sometimes it’s important to take a break from technology.

I remember senior year, Mrs. D (she was my AP Lit teacher) had us do a project where we gave up technology for…I think 24 hours, or maybe a weekend, something like that. If we had a paper that needed to be typed or whatever, we were allowed to use computers for that, but that was supposed to be the extent of it. I remember freaking out because I don’t own a watch, so I didn’t know the time. But, at some point I realized it was kinda nice to not have to worry about missing things (I’m also pretty sure I had like no texts because no one really texts me, anyway). Everything is sort of different, all of sudden you realize, life still goes on, even without everyone knowing your every thought and what you did every minute of every day. And learning that was probably the best thing she could have taught us.

I still do that sometimes, not for that amount of time, but I do. It’s sometimes good to call it quits with the internet.

Personally, I think the internet leads to a lot of problems simply because people do things without thinking (thank goodness I know when I need to remove myself). Don’t get me wrong, I love the internet as much as the next American teenager. I like keeping in touch with family and seeing old friends and making fun of people (don’t get offended, it happens and you know it). But sometimes, you just have to stop.

Besides, as much as I like typing, and I do, I really do (name that movie reference…Pitch Perfect), sometimes it’s good for me to see things on paper. See, when I blog, I have something specific (or maybe less specific; I know I’m a little scatter-brained) that I want to write about: a prompt, or an idea, or a lesson I learned, or a person I like or don’t, that kind of thing. And because I know other people are probably going read it, it’s different. Don’t get me wrong, I still express myself, it’s just a little different. And I still write, with a pen and paper, when I feel like that’s what I need. And it’s good for me in a different way than blogging.

Even more than that, with the internet, it seems like privacy has gone out the window. If I don’t want to share my life with you, don’t worry about it. Some things are just private and I think with social networking sites, we feel obligated to share with the whole world. And I am not about that life. So, sometimes an internet hiatus is healthy, I think.

Read a book. Write a letter. Draw a picture. And take the pressure off.

3 thoughts on “Unplugged

Wanna leave a reply? Do it! Now!

