Daily Prompt

I am Different and the Same.

Today’s Daily Prompt was to write a six word story about what the I think the future holds for me and then explain it.

I am different and the same.

In life, we change, we grow, we learn. By the same token, some things never change. Yesterday was different from today, but I still woke up and did the same things. I still put on a t-shirt and jeans and went to class.

It’s amazing to me that day by day things never seem to change, but a month or a year from now, we’ll look back and they have changed. Drastically.

Last year, I don’t think I would have imagined going to class in a t-shirt and jeans. That quickly became the standard attire. (Ain’t nobody got time for gettin’ dressed up before 8 in the morning.)

Last year, I didn’t know anyone on this campus. In the course of a year, I manage to meet the most wonderful people possible, I’m pretty sure. I most certainly plan to keep these friends, for the rest of my life.

Last year, I could count the meals I cooked in my life on one hand (not counting Ramen Noodles, because, let’s be real: that is not a meal). Now, I cook on a daily basis with my roommate. And, I have yet to burn down the apartment (applause here is acceptable).

Last year, I would have put off studying abroad; this spring, I’m going to study abroad in London, England. How many sophomores can say they had that opportunity? Four months in Europe. I’m thrilled.

I’m working as an RA in the apartment complex at my school. I have the best co-workers I think I could ask for.

But I don’t feel different than I did last year. I don’t feel older. I feel like I’m still me. As everything around me changes, as I meet new people, do things, explore new places, I’m still fundamentally me. And I hope that never changes. In this world, it’s hard to be true to yourself and I like to think that I am strong enough to keep my identity.

Dr-Seuss-Youer-Quote

2 thoughts on “I am Different and the Same.

Wanna leave a reply? Do it! Now!

