Other Stuff

Switched At Birth

Switched at Birth: ASL Episode

I am very lucky to have the opportunity to go to a wonderful school and take American Sign Language as my foreign language. As I’ve mentioned before, I think, in class, we aren’t allowed to talk because our teacher can’t understand us and that’s considered disrespectful.

I also watch Switched at Birth on ABC Family. It’s a great show about two girls who were switched as babies and grew up with the wrong families. Bay grew up in a well-to-do household and went to a private school and had everything handed to her. When she is doing experiments with blood types and things she discovers she can’t possibly be related to her parents. She finds her biological mother (I don’t remember how, that was kinda a long time ago. Sorry.) and the girl who was supposed to have her life, Daphne. Daphne is deaf and goes to a deaf school and her mother has had to work for everything they have ever had. Through a bunch of events, Bay ends up attending Carlton (the deaf school) through a program geared towards teaching hearing kids with deaf family members about ASL and the culture. At the end of the last episode, we found that the school district which Carlton is a part of has decided to close Carlton.

All that to say, I really enjoy the show. And, as I’m sure my mother can tell you, since I’ve started taking ASL, I pick up a lot of the signs they use in the show. I’m always very proud. I really enjoy sign language. It makes sense.

Anyway. Tonight’s episode is all in sign language (don’t worry, there are subtitles, too) and I think you should all watch it. According to the commercial (that’s what the super random link at the top of the post is), it’s supposed to give everyone a glimpse into Deaf Culture. It could inspire you to learn something new or change your mind about something. It’s also the first ever all ASL episode to air on mainstream television. That’s pretty cool.

For everyone who can’t tune in tonight, it should be online @ abcfamily.com after tonight.

Wanna leave a reply? Do it! Now!

